fbpx

ID110-Changing or Amending an Exposure

  • Home
  • Mahjpedia
  • ID110-Changing or Amending an Exposure
When searching, remember, a few words are better than many

ID110-Changing or Amending an Exposure

< All Topics
Print

Question: What is the rule for changing an exposure before I discard?

Answer: If a player inadvertently exposes the wrong number of tiles or exposes too many jokers, they can add to or take away from the current exposure as long as they have not discarded. In other words, you can change a Pung to a Kong, Kong to a Pung, Kong to a Quint, Quint to a Kong, etc.

There are two scenarios that apply if you place an incorrect tile in your exposure:

  1. If you place an incorrect tile from your hand and add it in your exposure, you cannot correct it. You would now have an erroneous exposure and your hand would be dead. This has been confirmed in writing by the National Mah Jongg League, letter dated 2/2024.
  2. If you call a discard and pick up the wrong tile and put it on top of your rack, your hand is dead. This rule can be found on page 19, #15(c) of Mah Jongg Made Easy, 2024.

Source: Mah Jongg Made Easy 2024, page 15,  para.2

Table of Contents