ID118-Commitment to Mah Jongg

  • Home
  • Mahjpedia
  • ID118-Commitment to Mah Jongg
When searching, remember, a few words are better than many

ID118-Commitment to Mah Jongg

< All Topics

Question: If a player starts to expose tiles on their rack, and then says, oops I can’t do that because they don’t actually have Mah Jongg, can they put their tiles back?

Answer:  Since they did not verbalize, “Mah Jongg”, the player must first complete the exposure after calling the tile and can then return their other tiles to their rack. Had Mah Jongg been declared and the hand incomplete it would have been a Mah Jongg in error.

Source: NMJL Bulletin 2022 (added after a letter was written to the NMJL by a player)

Previous ID116-Wall Game Variations with Money
Next Private: ID119-Mah Jongg In Error by Two Players and Another Tossed in Their Hand
Table of Contents