ID83-Calling a Discard to Complete an Exposure

  • Home
  • Mahjpedia
  • ID83-Calling a Discard to Complete an Exposure
When searching, remember, a few words are better than many

ID83-Calling a Discard to Complete an Exposure

< All Topics
Print

Question: What does the “X” mean on the card?

Answer: The letter “X” shown to a hand’s right indicates that the hand is an exposed hand, meaning you may call a tile and expose it to complete a pung, kong, quint, or sextet.  A tile may be called by any player at anytime during the game. If a tile is called the game continues to the right of the player who called the tile. This sometimes causes a player to miss a turn.

Source:   Mah Jongg Made Easy (2020 page 12, Choosing a Hand; pages 14-15, The Play)

 

Previous ID82-Calling a Tile While Playing a Concealed Hand
Next ID84-Commitment to a Joker Exchange  
Table of Contents