When searching, remember, a few words are better than many
ID174-Call or Claim a Tile at the Same Time for an Exposure (Simultaneous)
Question: What happens when two players call the same tile for an exposure?
Answer: When two players call the same tile for an exposure, the player next in turn gets the tile. However, there is an exception to this rule. If two players call the same tile for an exposure, and one has either exposed tiles from their rack OR picked up the called (claimed) tile, they are entitled to the tile regardless of whether they are next to pick.
Example 1: Player B calls a 6 Bam and Player A calls the same tile, both for an exposure. Player B took the 6 Bams from her rack and placed them on top of her rack, before Player A took action. Although Player B is not next in line, they get preference and would get the called tile.
Example 2: layer B calls a 6 Bam and Player A calls the same tile, both for an exposure. Player B took the 6 Bam off the table and place it on the top of her rack, before Player A took action. Although Player B is not next in line, they get preference and would get the called tile.
Source: Mah Jongg Made Easy 2024, pg. 18, #10(b), Back of the NMJL Card, CLAIMING A DISCARD, #5